Skip to main content
university logo

University Library

Sociology: Citation Searching

Finding Resources From a Citation

Finding a Resource from a Citation

Scholarly articles and books include a list of references/ resources that the author consulted when writing the work. These citations can either be listed at the end of the page in the case of footnotes or the end of the chapter or article.  Here is an example:

When trying to find the full text of a resource from the citation information, it is helpful to know what type of resource it is before trying to find the full text. 

 

Books

Citations for books will generally list the place of publication and publisher distinguishing them from other types of resources.    

To find a book, try an advanced search in One Search using the title of the book or a title search in WorldCat.

EXAMPLE:               

Jahoda, G. (1993).Crossroads between culture and mind: Continuities and change in theories of human nature. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press.

 

Articles

Citations for articles will generally list the year, volume, issue, and page numbers.

To find the full text of an article, start at the library homepage, click on the Google Scholar tab and copy and paste the citation information into the search box.  You can also try a basic search in One Search using the author's last name and a couple of words from the article title.

EXAMPLE:  

Shields, S. A., & Bhatia, S. (2009). Darwin on race, gender, and culture. American Psychologist64(2), 111-119. doi:10.1037/a0013502

Citation Searching

Some databases will allow you to access a version of the reference list for an article with links to check other databases for the full text.  This will bring you backwards in time as it will bring you to works the author/s consulted when writing the article. This list is called cited references or references.

 

Some databases will give you a list of other articles/authors that have cited an article with links to check other databases for the full text.  This list will bring you forwards in time as it will show you other works that were published after the article was written.  This list is called times cited or cited by.

 

 

PsycINFO

PsycINFO

 


 

Web of Science

Web of Science includes the Science Citation Index and the Social Science Citation Index. 

 

 

Google Scholar

John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300
323-343-3988