Skip to main content
university logo

University Library

Sociology: Newspapers

Newsstream

Global Newsstream - Covers full text of over 1800 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. Major newspapers include the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and many other national and regional titles.

Major Newspapers Databases - Links to major newspapers databases.

Ethnic Newspapers & Magazines

Ethnic Newswatch - Full-text for more than 200 ethnic, minority and native press publications, including newspapers, magazines and journals. Coverage includes news, culture and history.

OmniFile Full Text Mega - Access to full text articles, page images, article abstracts, and citations from thousands of sources in a variety of subjects.

Readers Guide Full Text Mega - Indexes and abstracts 609 retrospective popular and general interest magazines for 1890-1982, and 379 for 1983-present.

Other Newspapers

Westlaw Next - The database provides news and business resources.

Los Angeles Times (1881-1993) - Historical Los Angeles Times offers completely searchable full text and full image coverage from 1881-1993.

Southern California's largest daily newspaper. For electronic access to the historical segment of Los Angeles Time from 1881 to 1994, use Los Angeles Times (1881-1994) or Historical Los Angeles Times.
 

New York Times (1851-2013)- The New York Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

New York Times (1980-present) - New York Times (1980-present) delivers global breaking news, 24/7 updates, and opinions in all subjects.

Chicago Defender (Nov 22, 1999 - present)

Afro-American (Baltimore) (2003 - present)

Los Angeles Sentinel (2003 - present)

New York Amsterdam News (1994 - present )

Subject Guide

Jayati Chaudhuri's picture
Jayati Chaudhuri
Contact:
Office: University Library, # LN 2021
Office Hours - Wednesday, 2-4 p.m.
Thursday, 1-3 p.m.
Email: jchaudh5@calstatela.edu
John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300
323-343-3988