This is the "Home" page of the "Celebrating Women" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Mar 24, 2016 URL: http://calstatela.libguides.com/women Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

World Wide Celebration

IWD 2016 campaign theme #PledgeForParity

Worldwide, women continue to contribute to social, economic, cultural and political achievement.

Progress towards gender parity has slowed in many places.

The World Economic Forum predicted in 2014 that it would take until 2095 to achieve global gender parity. Then one year later in 2015, they estimated that a slowdown in the already glacial pace of progress meant the gender gap wouldn't close entirely until 2133.

So how do we want to celebrate International Women's Day 2016?

We say by Pledging For Parity!

      
     

    Twitter

     

    Her-Story

    International Women's Day (March 8) is a global day celebrating the social, economic, cultural and political achievements of women. The day also marks a call to action for accelerating gender parity. 

     

    Building upon International Women's Day in 1986, 14 states had already declared March as Women’s History Month. This momentum and state-by-state action was used as the rational to lobby Congress to declare the entire month of March 1987 as National Women’s History Month. In 1987, Congress declared March as National Women’s History Month in perpetuity. A special Presidential Proclamation is issued every year which honors the extraordinary achievements of American women.

    View a Timeline of achievements!

    Library Online Resources

    Library databases have a wealth of information!

    *Off-campus access is restricted to Cal State LA students, faculty and staff. Log in with your myCalStateLA identity.

    • Women and Social Movements in the United States
      Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, Women and Social Movements in the United States includes 100 document projects and archives with almost 3,950 documents and 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by some 2,150 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
    • GenderWatch
      With archival material dating back to 1970, GenderWatchâ„¢ provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. GenderWatch supports gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. Combining hundreds of academic, gray, and popular literature titles, GenderWatch provides researchers with hundreds of thousands of articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip