Skip to main content

RefWorks: Home

A comprehensive guide on using RefWorks. Includes directions and tutorials.

What Is RefWorks?

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager which allows you to create your own personal database. References can be imported from the library catalog, online databases, text files, websites and more.

There are two versions of RefWorks: Legacy RefWorks and New RefWorks

This guide is for the Legacy RefWorks

Why Use RefWorks?

  • Gather, store, manage, and share references or citations.
  • Generate bibliographies in numerous citation formats such as APA, MILA, Chicago, etc.
  • Store references online and have access to them anywhere using your web browser 

Setting Up An Account or Accessing RefWorks ×

RefWorks is available to CSULA faculty, staff, and students for both on- and off-campus access. To establish an account, proceed by following these steps.

  1. Go to the library's homepage
  2. Move down to see the "Cite Sources" icon, and click and then select RefWorks
  3. If you already have an account, type your user name and password.
  4. If you do not have an account, click on: Sign up for an individual account, and you will be asked to enter the campus Group ID "RWCSULosAngeles"
  5. Once you have completed the registration, you can login with your username and password.

Adding Citations

Within many of the Library article databases, you can export (add) citations into RefWorks. This is often referred to as direct export.

To add citations:

  1. Perform the search in a database.
  2. Select add for the record to keep and view
  3. Look for an export, save, or the RefWorks icon. Click on either.
  4. Access will be provided to a page that offers Direct Export to RefWorks.
  5. Click on the proper button. When prompted login to RefWorks [If already logged in, the RefWorks window opens].
  6. RefWorks opens and the import process begins immediately.
  7. All citations are saved in the last imported folder from which can be moved to another folder. References can be placed in more than one folder.

Locating Citations once they are placed in RefWorks

Use the Search menu. Citations can also be sorted under this menu by author, journal title, and subject.

Organizing by Folders

RefWorks organizes references intro three folders, Last Imported Reference, Reference not in a Folder and All References. You have the option of creating your own folders as well. This mechanism allows you to save references on different topics into different folders or save a particular reference to multiple folders.

Folders can be shared via email or via the RefShare website allowing for collaboration.

To create a new folder:

  1. From the Folders pull down menu, select Create New Folder
  2. Enter a name for the folder.
  3. Click Ok. A pop-up window will contfirm that the folder was successfully created.
  4. From the Folders tab, select Organize Folders to rename, delete or clear the contents. The number of references in each folder is also indicated, with hyperlinks to the references.

Creating the Bibliography

Use the Bibliography menu. To create a bibliography within Word, download the Write-N-Cite plugin from the Help Menu.

Additional information on using Write-N-Cite is available in one of the top column tabs.

John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300
323-343-3988