This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Nutritional Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nutritional Science  

Last Updated: Aug 10, 2017 URL: http://calstatela.libguides.com/nutrition Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started

When doing research in nutritional studies there are a variety of sources available to you.  The first step is selecting a topic and figuring out what types of sources of information you will need to use for your research.

If you need scholarly and/or peer reviewed articles, you will want to start with a database. If you need background information, a good starting point would be a subject encyclopedia. 

If you need help figuring out where to begin you may always contact me.

 

 

Thank You

A big thank you to Teresa Omidsalar for graciously giving me permission to use her Child and Family Studies Research Guide as a template for this guide.

Electronic Reference Sources

Online encyclopedias are a good starting point for research.

 

Print Reference Sources

 

There are many print reference sources that are also good starting points for research. The following are shelved in the reference collection on the 3rd floor of Library South (Palmer Wing).

Foods & nutrition encyclopedia: (Volumes 1 & 2)  TX349 .F575 1994

Food for health: a nutrition encyclopedia:  TX349 .E475 2002

Encyclopedia of food sciences and nutrition: (Volumes 1-10)  TX349 .E63 2003

Encyclopedia of human nutrition: (Volumes 1-4)  QP141 .E526 2005

Encyclopedia of obesity:  (Volumes 1 & 2)  RC628 .E53 2008

 

Adele Dobry

Profile Image
Health Sciences Librarian
Contact Info
323-343-2019
Library North, Room 2021A
adobry@calstatela.edu
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip