This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Nursing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing  

Last Updated: Oct 16, 2017 URL: http://calstatela.libguides.com/nursing Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started

When doing research in nursing there are a variety of sources available to you.  The first step is selecting a topic and figuring out what types of sources of information you will need to use for your research.

If you need scholarly and/or peer reviewed articles, you will want to start with a database. If you need background information, a good starting point would be a subject encyclopedia. 

If you need help figuring out where to begin you may always contact me.

 

Writing Help

  • University Writing Center
    The University Writing Center (UWC) provides one-to-one tutoring free of charge to Cal State LA students. Located at JFK Library, Palmer Wing 1039A.
  • Graduate Resource Center
    The GRC provides thesis/dissertation support and general writing support. Scroll down to the bottom of the webpage for more information.

APA Style Central

  • APA Style Central
    APA Style CENTRAL provides instruction on and tools for how to think and write like scholars. It provides the resources necessary to learn, research, write, and publish in APA Style.
 

Thank You

A big thank you to Teresa Omidsalar for graciously giving me permission to use her Child and Family Studies Research Guide as a template for this guide.

Electronic Reference Sources

Online encyclopedias are a good starting point for research.

 

Print Reference Sources

 

There are many print reference sources that are also good starting points for research. The following are shelved in the reference collection on the 3rd floor of Library South (Palmer Wing).

Encyclopedia of Bioethics:  QH332 .E52 2004

Encyclopedia of healthcare management:  RA971 .E52 2004

Encyclopedia of human nutrition: (Volumes 1-4)  QP141 .E526 2005

The encyclopedia of elder care: the comprehensive resource on geriatric and social care:  RC954 .E53 2008

Companion encyclopedia of psychology:  BF121 .C59 (This title is shelved in Library North, 2nd Floor)

 

Health Sciences Librarian

Profile Image
Adele Dobry
Contact Info
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032
Office 2021A
T 323.343.2019
adobry@calstatela.edu
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip