Skip to main content

Spotlight on Music: Music Resources @ the Library

Music Resources

Check out the Music Resources available through the Library:

  • Print Books
  • Streaming Music
  • C.D. Collection
  • Online Scholarly Journals

Music Online Streaming Database

 * off- campus access requires myCalStateLA identity log in.

Music Online is a comprehensive streaming audio collection. It currently provides access to over 500,000 albums (approx. 6,500,000 tracks) in the following genres:

  • Classical: All major genres and time periods from medieval to contemporary, from choral works to symphonies, operas, and the avant-garde.
  • Jazz: All major genres including vocal jazz, bebop, acid jazz, big band, modern jazz, and more.
  • World: Music from 169 countries and more than 1,000 cultural groups.
  • American: Country, folk, jazz, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, R&B, and shape note singing.
  • Popular: Wide range of popular music from around the world that is not available in our genre-specific collections.

Additional search options: by Title, Artist, Time Period, Instrument and many more...

 

Create a Playlist:

 After registering for a Music Online playlist account, you can create personal or public playlists. Simply click on the "Sign In" link on the upper right corner (below the search bar) and follow the instructions to register. Search for a artist/song and once you select a album to listen to you should see a "playlist" button on the left hand side of the screen under the album name. By clicking on that button you can create a playlist or add the album to an existing playlist. You can create a playlist just for yourself or for a class or group of friends.

Staff Recommendation!

CDs available in the Library

The Library has over 2,000 CDs available for loan.

Listen to something new today!

Wake Up! by John Legend & the Roots

Complete Piano Music by Roy Harris

A Hard Day's Night by The Beatles

Grove (Oxford) Music Online Database

Oxford Music Online includes: Grove Music Online database, Oxford Dictionary of Music, and Oxford Companion of Music.

You can search historical time periods, movements, biographies and much more.

Explore today!

* off- campus access requires myCalStateLA identity log in.

Books Available at Cal State LA Library

Visit the Library North Wing, 3rd floor to browse the Music Book Collection.

M Music
ML  Literature on music
MT Instruction and study

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature

* off-campus access requires MyCalStateLA identity log in

 

 

About:

  • About 200,000 citations on international music research.
  • This file is produced by the Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale.
  • This is considered to be THE premier scholarly index to music literature.
  • 1967 to present. Updated quarterly.

John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300
323-343-3988