This is the "Getting Started" page of the "MGMT 308 Business Responsibilities in Society" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MGMT 308 Business Responsibilities in Society  

Last Updated: Oct 22, 2010 URL: http://calstatela.libguides.com/mgmt308 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Useful E-Books

  • SAP GRC for Dummies
    Don't let the title put you off (the acronyms or dummies part!) This is a great book for understanding governance, risk and compliance as well as modeling what good corporate behaviors actually look like in these areas.
  • Essentials of Enterprise Compliance
    E-book that discusses the role of compliance and rule following (internal and external) and their role in profitability.
  • The Death of a Thousand Cuts
    This e-book discusses the ways in which corporations campaign to show that they are good citizens and care about the environment and other socially progressive causes.
  • The Business of Consumption
    Deals with the moral and ethical aspects of businesses that promote excessive consumption, especially natural resources.
  • SOA Governance
    Great book about service oriented architecture and the role of IT systems in different forms of governance (HR, compliance, risk, etc). Excellent chapter explaining what governance is and why it is important.
 

Researching Companies

Researching Companies for Social Responsibility @ CSULA

 

There are dozens of databases relevant to business researchers. For MGMT 308, the bulk of your research is investigating companies to determine their level of social and environmental responsibility. There is no single resource that authoritatively and completely reports a corporation's good or wrong doing. Instead you have to search a variety of datbases and review everything from cases to Securities and Exchange Commission filings to news. The best sources for this kind of research are:

 

  • Business Source Premier
  • ABI/Inform Global
  • Westlaw Campus
  • LexisNexis Academic
  • Mergent
  • CIAO
  • PAIS

 

Links to Business Databases

The links below are to the databases most useful for researching your paper for MGMT 308:

  • ABI/Inform Global
    Great source of peer reviewed/scholarly articles related to business and academic business topics.
  • Business Source Premier
    Like ABI/Inform, a core business database for literature reviews and finding scholarly articles.
  • P.A.I.S. International
    Public Affairs Information Service provides reports, books and articles on issues related to business in society. Excellent scholarly source for searching ethical topics (sweatshops, sustainability etc.)
  • Alternative Press Index
    Great place to search companies and whether or not they have been fined or sanctioned for everything from antitrust to fair trade to environmental violations.
  • Alt Press Watch
    Alternative press database for searching company's and their activities that might not get picked up by other databases.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Authoritative source for searching news, trends and facts.
  • Westlaw Campus
    Check here to see if your company has been a party to a lawsuit or criminal prosecution and if there is a published legal opinion about it. Also, search law reviews for articles about corporate social responsibility.
  • Mergent
    Comprehensive resource for searching a company's financial position, news and SEC filings. Tearsheets are useful for gathering data for presentations.
  • CIAO
    Columbia Affairs International Online provides conference reports and working papers on a significant number of corporate responsibility topics.

Other databases that might be useful

  • Corporate Fines and Settlements
    Tracks corporate wrong doing in the form of settlements and fines issued by a variety of agencies.
  • Corporate Crime Reporter
    Top 100 corporate criminals and other useful information about the ways in which corporations do wrong.
  • Corporate Crime and Abuses
    Non-profit organization The Center for Corporate Policy's website that deals with recommendations for decreasing corporate crime and abuses.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Use this database to get accurate, authoritative definitions and explanations of critical terms like 'free' trade' or 'sustainability' or 'business ethics.'

Faculty Profile

Profile Image
Michael Germano JD, MA, MS
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Office: LN 1018A
Office Hours Fall 2017:
Monday 3-4:30
Tuesday 3-5:30
Wednesday 3-4:30
Thursday 3-5:30

Text (769-287-1015) or email (mgerman@calstatela.edu) to schedule an appt.
Send Email

Refworks

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip