This is the "Securities Research Databases and Websites" page of the "FIN 4370 Securities Analysis" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

FIN 4370 Securities Analysis  

Last Updated: Sep 15, 2016 URL: http://calstatela.libguides.com/fin4370 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Securities Research Databases and Websites Print Page
  Search: 
 

Company Information

A significant part of investing is getting solid information on companies before you purchase their stock. Below are the information sources that help you do your own due diligence in terms of understanding a company's strategy,  future performance and potential value as an investment.

And don't dismiss the importance/value of Googling your company, especially for news stories. The best investing advice I ever received was from a finance professor when I was an undergraduate: The companies with the best stories to tell have the best potential as an investment. Mine Google for good stories. Better yet, set up a Google Alert to track news and information about exciting new innovative products and services (which are often the key to company's story.)

  • Business Insights Global
    Easy to use source of news, marketshare, financial performance and more. Also includes stock reports from ValuEngine.
  • Company Profiles
    Good source of base knowledge on a company. Quick strategy overview.

Industry Research

Use these databases as well as estatement studies (in the box to your right) to do vertical analysis of your company's performance.

 

SEC Filings

SEC Filings can be enormously useful for investors provided you use them efficiently. There are several that should be considered including the 10-K. Proxy Statement and 8-K.s

The 10-K is the annual report to shareholders. Sections most useful are the business description and risk factors (Items 1 and 1A). These give a great overview of strategy. Also worth reviewing is the Managements Discussion and Analysis of Financial Conditions and Results of Operations, also known as the MDA (Item 7), which gives a detailed overview of financial and operational performance.

8-K's are useful since they disclose material events that potentially impact the stock's value. They are irregular filings that are submitted in response to events (future or recent).

Finally, the Proxy Statement is an oftentimes overlooked treasure trove of information for investors. Investopedia provides a nice overview of how proxy statements can help investors.

Premium Databases

Below are premium, fee-based information source for equities investing research to which the library subscribes. Standard and Poors can be particularly useful for your research since they have stock reports, an advanced stock screener, industry analysis and more. 

  • Standard & Poors
    Useful information here including: Advanced stock screener, S&P stock analysts reports, Industry analysis and Sub industry analysis.
  • Valueline
    Quarterly stock reports. An industry standard.
  • Factiva
    Ratio comparison report is beneficial. Useful source of news events that impact a company's value.
  • Mergent
    Great for getting a full set of company financials (current and historical) and ratios as well as horizontal analysis (3 or 5 year CAGR calculated for BS, IS and ratios).
 

Estatement Studies

Estatement Studies is a premium database that provides industry norms data. It also has a valuable tool for analyzing a company's financial position compared to its peers. You can access the client comparison spreadsheet when you download/export any report after selecting an industry. 

Free Stock Screeners

Stock screeners can be useful in terms of helping you narrow purchase options. They are, however, only as good as the perosn who uses them in terms of investing decision-making strength. They require the user to have solid, researched criteria as well as good knowledge of the companies involved. none of which comes from the stock screener itself. Investopedia has a good primer on stock screeners and how they are used.

Faculty Profile

Profile Image
Michael Germano JD, MA, MS
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Office: LN 1018A
Office Hours Spring 2017:
Monday 2-4
Tuesday 3-6
Wednesday 3-4
Thursday 3-5
Friday 11-12
Text (769-287-1015) or email (mgerman@calstatela.edu) to schedule an appt.
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip