This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Education Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Education Law  

Last Updated: Nov 14, 2016 URL: http://calstatela.libguides.com/edlaw Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Links to Law Databases

Education Law Research @ Cal State LA

Most of your education law research may be done online. The primary database for education law research is:

  • WestlawNext Campus Research
    Another authoritative database for education law research. Westlaw Campus allows you to search by topic and easily find documents when you have a citation. KeyCite, the Westlaw citator product, is the easiest way to check references to cases, statutes, and regulations.

Other Useful Databases

  • ERIC
    In this database you can find useful articles ABOUT laws and cases. When searching, include your topic, e.g. "search and seizure" or "school prayer" and also add the keywords "laws or legislation or cases or legal or regulations."
  • Educational Administration Abstracts
    In this database you can find useful articles ABOUT laws and cases. When searching, include your topic, e.g. "search and seizure" or "school prayer" and also add the keywords "laws or legislation or cases or legal or regulations."
  • Education Full Text
 

Print Education Law Sources

Alexander, K., & Alexander, M. D. (2003). The law of schools, students and teachers in a nutshell. 3rd ed. St. Paul, MN: Thomson West.    Reserves   KF 4119.3 A43 2003

Biegel, S. (2006). Education and the law. St. Paul, MN: Thomson/West. Reserves  KF 4118 B54 2006

Carleton, D. (2002). Landmark congressional laws on education. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press. Reserves   KF 4119 .C357 2002

Deskbook encyclopedia of American school law. (2013). Rosemount, MN Informational Research Systems. Reserves   LB 2514 .D47 2013

Essex, N. L. (2012). School law and the public schools : A practical guide for educational leaders. (5th ed.). Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Education. Reserves KF 4119 E84 2012

 Guthrie, J. W. Ed. (2003). Encyclopedia of education. (2nd ed). New York, NY: Macmillan Reference USA (Also available online)  

Imber, M., & vanGeel, T. (2010). A teacher's guide to education law. (4th ed.). New York, NY: Routledge. Reserves KF 4119.85 I46 2010 (Also available as an e-book)

 Russo, C. J. (2008). Encyclopedia of education law. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage. Reference KF 4117 E53 2008

 Russo, C. J. (2006).  Reutter’s the law of public education. (6th ed.). New York, NY: Foundation Press Thomson/West. Reserves  KF 4118 R4 2006  

U. S. Supreme Court education cases. (2004). (12th ed.). Malvern, PA:.Center for Education & Employment Law.   Reserves KF 4110.3 .U15 2004  (Earlier editions are available on Reserve)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Teresa Omidsalar
Contact Info
Library North 2024
323-343-3996
Office Hours:Tuesday 2:00 -4:00 pm and by appointment.
Reference Desk: Wednesday 2:00 - 4:00 pm
Send Email

Legal Research Guides

Below are links to online guides for more help in understanding legal research.

How to Read a Judicial Opinion

The content of this presentation is loosely adapted from How to Read a Legal Opinion: A Guide for New Law Students

Orin S. Kerr, 11 Green Bag 2d 51 (Autumn 2007).

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip