This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Curriculum & Instruction" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Curriculum & Instruction  

Last Updated: Mar 2, 2017 URL: http://calstatela.libguides.com/curriculum Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started

When doing research for your curriculum and instruction courses there are a variety of sources available to you.  The first step is figuring out what types of sources of information you will need to use for your research, project, or lesson plan.

If you need scholarly and/or peer reviewed articles, you will want to start with a database. If you need background information, a good starting point would be a subject encyclopedia. 

If you need help figuring out where to begin you can always contact me.

 

Useful e-Books

Access the following e-Books about counseling, school psychology, or special education by clicking on their titles below.

 

Getting Help

  • You can go to a PAIR mentor at the Writing Center: Monday - Thursday 12:00 - 6:00 pm to get research and APA assistance.
  • And if you need help immediately you can get help 24/7 by connecting to QuestionPoint Ask a Librarian 

Electronic Reference Sources

Online encyclopedias are a good starting point for research.

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Offers an online collection of reference eBooks including encyclopedias, such as the Encyclopedia of Education and the Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development and other reference sources for multidisciplinary research. You can search a single eBook or across an entire eBook collection. When starting your search type in terms such as school counseling or rehabilitation counseling.

 

Print Reference Sources

There are many print reference sources that are also good starting points for research. The following are shelved in the Reference Collection on the first floor of Library North.

Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies, LB2806.15 .E48 2010,  2 vol.

Praeger Handbook of Urban Education, LC5131 .P7 2006, 2 vol. 

Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education, LC5131 .P7 2006, 3 vol.

Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education,  LC3707 .E523 2008, 2 vol.

Encyclopedia of Education Law, KF4117 .E53 2008, 2 vol.

Praeger Handbook of Latino Education in the United States, LC2669 .P73 2007, 2 vol.

Encyclopedia of American Education, LB 17 U54 2007, 2 vol.

Early Childhoold Education: An International Encyclopedia, LB1139.23 .E272 2007, 3 vol.

 

Library Faculty

Profile Image
Teresa Portilla Omidsalar
Contact Info
Library North 2024
323-343-3996
Office hours: Wednesday 2:00 -4:00 pm and by appointment
Reference Assistance: Tuesday 12:00 - 2:00 pm
Send Email

Usefule e-Journals

Even though you can find journal articles in the Library's databases, below are some important journals for this area that are available electronically.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip