This is the "Home" page of the "English" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English  

Databases Key Reference Works Reference Books in Circulating Stacks
Last Updated: Oct 10, 2013 URL: http://calstatela.libguides.com/content.php?pid=240204 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Style Manuals & Guides

RefWorks

 

Databases

MLA International Bibliography  One of the first places to start in a search for literary criticism of all types. MLA covers the world's research literature in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.  Indexes journal articles, books, book series, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, bibliographies, and other formats. 1917-

JSTOR An archive of the full-text content of scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, business, and sciences.

Project MUSE A comprehensive full text selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals to support a core liberal arts curriculum.

Humanities Full Text Art, film, music, world literature, philosophy, religion, and more. 400 peer-reviewed journals.1984-.

Humanities International Provides indexing and abstracting for over 2,300 journals and contains more than 2.9 million records.

World Shakespeare Bibliography Online A comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide since 1960. 

Contemporary Authors Complete biographical and bibliographical information on about 120,000 U.S. and international authors.

Contemporary Literary Criticism More than 35,000 critical essays on contemporary authors, with biographical, critical, principal works, and further study information.

Dictionary of Literary Biography More than 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of influential literary figures from all eras and genres.

Oxford English Dictionary The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language - over half a million words, present and past.

Middle English Dictionary  This electronic version of the MED preserves all the details of the print MED, but goes far beyond this, by converting its contents into an enormous database, searchable in ways impossible within the dictionary.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts   Language, linguistics, speech communications, hearing pathology. 2,600 periodicals.

Academic Search Premier Multi-subject - over 4,250 journals and magazines, most full-text. Also contains images including photos, maps and flags. 1984- 

 

Key Reference Works

  • American writers: a collection of literary biographies Ref PS129 .A55
  • American ethnic writers Ref PS153.M56 A414 2009
  • American women writers Ref PS147 .A4
  • Black literature criticism Ref PS153.N5 B556
  • British writers Ref PR85.B688
  • The Cambridge guide to literature in English Ref PR85 .C29 2006 
  • The Columbia Granger's index to poetry in collected and selected works Ref PN1022 .C63 2004
  • Dictionary of American literary characters Ref PS374.C43 D5 2002
  • Drama criticism Ref PN1601.D59. 1991-
  • Encyclopedia of African American women writers Ref PS153.N5 E49 2007
  • Encyclopedia of American literature Ref PS21.E53 2002
  • Encyclopedia of American poetry Ref PS323.5 .E53 2001
  • Encyclopedia of Asian-American literature Ref PS153.A84 O37 2007
  • Encyclopedia of British writers Ref PR451 .E55 2003
  • Encyclopedia of feminist literary theory Ref PN98.W64 E53
  • Encyclopedia of folklore and literature Ref PN41 .E48
  • Encyclopedia of Latin American literature Ref PQ7081.A1 E56
  • The Greenwood encyclopedia of American poets and poetry Ref PS303 .G74 2006
  • Magill's survey of world literature Ref PN523 .M29 2009
  • Modern British literature Ref PR471 .M57 2000
  • Native American writers of the United States, Ref PN451 .D52 v.175
  • Nineteenth-century literature criticism Ref PN761 .N5
  • Notable African American writers Ref PS153.N5 N68 2006
  • The Oxford encyclopedia of American literature Ref PS21 .E537 2004
  • The Oxford encyclopedia of British literature Ref  PR19 .O95 2006
  • Shakespearean criticism Ref  PR2965 .S43.1984-
  • Short story criticism Ref PN3373 .S386. 1988-
  • Short story index Ref PN6014 .S56
  • Twentieth-century literary criticism Ref PN771 .T89. 1978-2005
  • World poets Ref  PN1021 .W67 2000 

Academic Web Links

  • UC Berkeley Library's Montif Index page
    Example of how to use the Stith Thompson Motif Index.
  • Professor Brian Sturm's Motif Index page
    Overview of how the motif index works by Professor Sturm of UNC.
  • Shawn Urban's page on Motif Index
    Overview of how the motif index works.
  • The American Verse Project
    Provides electronic versions of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920. Poets include Stephen Vincent Benet, Emily Dickinson, Emerson, Longfellow, Edna St. Vincent Millay, Edgar Allan Poe, Carl Sandburg, and many more.
  • The Geoffrey Chaucer Website
    Compiled by Harvard University's Chaucer Program and provides a wide range of glossed Middle English texts and translations of analogues relevant to Chaucer's works, as well as selections from relevant works by earlier and later writers, critical articles from a variety of perspectives, graphics, and general information on life in the Middle Ages.
  • The Complete Works of William Shakespeare
    Full texts can be obtained by searching either the chronological listing or the alphabetical listing in this site.
  • Middle English Dictionary
    This electronic version of the MED preserves all the details of the print MED, but goes far beyond this, by converting its contents into an enormous database, searchable in ways impossible within any print dictionary.
  • Native American Authors
    Provides information on Native North American authors with bibliographies of their published works, biographical information, and links to online resources including interviews, online texts and tribal websites.
  • The Online Medieval and Classical Library
    Provides access to some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization.
  • Romantic Chronology
    The site covers the period from 1660 to 1851. It is broken into time periods and then into individual years. The Chronology provides links to reference information, full-text articles and primary materials and graphic items.
  • TEAMS Middle English texts
    Created by The Consortium for the Teaching of the Middle Ages (TEAMS), this is one of the most important free Web sites for Middle English literary studies, especially for teaching.

Ying Xu

Profile Image
Humanities Librarian
Contact Info
Office: Room LN 2020A
Phone: (323) 343-3959 (includes voice-mail)
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip