This is the "Visiting/Appointments" page of the "Guide to Special Collections & Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide to Special Collections & Archives  

Last Updated: Sep 7, 2017 URL: http://calstatela.libguides.com/SCA Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Visiting/Appointments Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Exhibits

Exhibits are on display in the Special Collections Reading Room and on the 1st floor Library North throughout the year.

Please stop by the Special Collections Reading Room to see our rotating displays.


View Past Exhibits

 

Upcoming Exhibit Schedule

Building the Future: 70 Years of Development at Cal State LA

August 30, 2017 - October 29, 2017

Undocumented Lives: Archives of Erasure and Emergence

November 6, 2017 - January 31, 2018

 

Appointment Information

The Cal State LA Special Collections & Archives Department serves the educational and research needs of the Cal State LA academic community, scholars, and the research community at large. Researchers interested in visiting Special Collections & Archives Materials to conduct research are encouraged to make an appointment, allowing at least 24 hours advance notice to give staff time to prepare materials for use. Please contact Azalea Camacho, University Library archivist for appointments.

 

Using Special Collections & Archives

Materials in Special Collections & Archives are available for research needs of students, faculty, and staff of the University, and available to the general public. Special Collections operates as a closed stacks area and material is retrieved for researchers. The opportunity to browse the shelves is not available. Researchers are asked to provide some form of photo identification. Please review the Guidelines for Use of Special Collections before your
appointment.

Guidelines for Use in Special Collections & Archives

Pencil Only-no ink or pens.

Special Collections and archival materials may only be consulted in the Special Collections reading room. Laptops may be used, but portable copiers and scanners are prohibited.

Handle material with care; be sure to maintain the original order of items within each folder. View items flat in their folders on the table, one folder at a time. Do not remove items from the folders and do not make marks or tracings of any kind on the materials.

All bags and oversized items are to be placed in the designated area. Only paper and pencil needed to take notes are permitted for use while reviewing Special Collections & Archival materials.

Food and/or beverages are prohibited in Special Collections

Use of digital cameras is permitted with approval from the Special Collections Staff. Cameras may not be brought into the department until necessary permission has been obtained. Digital camera use is subject to the material's condition, copyright laws, donor-imposed restrictions, and specific conditions and arrangements for preservation.

Digital photographic reproductions of materials are for personal research or private study only and are not to be reproduced, placed on a website, sold, or used in any other way without prior written permission from Special Collections.

No part of textual material or photographic images may be quoted or used without permission of the copyright owner. Clearance of copyright is always the responsibility of the person wishing to publish the materials, and is not the responsibility of the staff Special Collections & Archives.

Flash may not be used in photographing archives, manuscripts, or special collections materials.

Bound volumes may not be flattened in order to obtain better images and the usual care in handling all archival and special collections materials must be observed.

Hours & Location

Special Collections & Archives during Fall 2017 will operate only by appoinment due to the renovation of the Special Collections Reading Room.

 

Contact Us

Phone

(323) 343-3960

Email

SpecialCollections@calstatela.edu

Address

Special Collections & Archivies

University Library

5151 State University Drive

Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip