Getting Started
When doing research in child and family studies there are a variety of sources available to you. The first step is selecting a topic and figuring out what types of sources of information you will need to use for your research.
If you need scholarly and/or peer reviewed articles, you will want to start with a database. If you need background information, a good starting point would be a subject encyclopedia.
If you need help figuring out where to begin you can always contact me.
Useful e-Books
Access the following e-Books about counseling, school psychology, or special education by clicking on their titles below.
- Assessing Adolescents in Educational, Counseling, and Other Settings
- Effects of Preschool Curriculum Programs on School Readiness
- Importance of Early Childhood Development: Hearing Before the Committee on Education and Labor
- Introduction to the Anatomy and Physiology of Children: A Guide for Students of Nursing, Child Care and Health
Electronic Reference Sources
Online encyclopedias are a good starting point for research.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryOffers an online collection of reference eBooks including encyclopedias, such as the Encyclopedia of Education and the Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development and other reference sources for multidisciplinary research. You can search a single eBook or across an entire eBook collection. When starting your search type in terms such as school counseling or rehabilitation counseling.
- Child Development
- Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society
- Encyclopedia of Infant and Early Childhood Development
- Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health Infancy through Adolescence
Print Reference Sources
There are many print reference sources that are also good starting points for research. The following are shelved in the reference collection on the first floor of Library North.
100 Best Books for Children. Ref PN 1009 A1S54 2004
A to Zoo: Subject Access to Children's Picture Books. Ref PR 990 L55 2006
Bilingual Children's Books in English and Spanish: An Annotated Bibliography, 1942 through 2001. Ref Z 1037.7 D36 2003
Child Development. Ref HQ 772 C436 2002
Early Childhood Education: An International Encyclopedia. ( 4 vols.) Ref LB 1139.23 E272 2007
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood: In History and Society. ( 3 vols.) Ref HQ 767.84 E53 2003 Encyclopedia of Children's Health and Wellness. ( 2 vols.) Ref RJ 45 T9465 2004
Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development. ( 3 vols.) Ref LB 15 E473 2005
Encyclopedia of Infant and Early Childhood Development. ( 3 vols.) Ref HQ 767.84 E53 2008
Encyclopedia of Motherhood (2 vols.) Ref HQ 759 E52 2010
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology. Ref GN 502 E63 2006
Encyclopedia of School Psychology. Ref LB 1027.55 E523 2005 Statistical Handbook on the World's Children. Ref HQ 767.9 K38 2002
Encyclopedia of Special Education : A Reference for the Education of Children, Adolescents, and Adults with Disabilities and Other Exceptional Individuals. ( 3 vols.) Ref LC 4007 E53 2007
Handbook of Adolescent Psychology. ( 2 vols.) Ref BF 724 H33 2009
Men and Masculinities: A Social, Cultural, and Historical Encyclopedia. ( 2 vols.) Ref HQ 1090.3 M436 2004
Library Faculty |
Contact Info 323-343-3996 Library North 2024 Office Hours: Tues & Wed 3-4pm & by appointment. Reference Desk: Mon 3 - 4pm; Wed 1 - 3pm; Thur 3:30 -4:30pm Send Email |
Usefule e-Journals
Even though you can find journal articles in the Library's databases, below are some important journals for this area that are available electronically.
- Adolescence
- Child Abuse & Neglect
- Child and Adolescent Mental Health
- Child & Family Social Work
- Child: Care, Health, and Development
- Child Development
- Electronic Journal of Human Sexuality
- Infant and Child Development
- Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development
- Journal of Sex and Marital Therapy
- Montessori Life
- Sex Roles


Loading...
