This is the "Health Science 495" page of the "Community Health" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Community Health  

Last Updated: Jul 9, 2015 URL: http://calstatela.libguides.com/communityhealth Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Health Science 495 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Community Health links

American Public Health Association

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 
Large inventory tracking various health statistics such as disease, morbidity and mortality, birth, aging populations nationally and by state. In some instances, data for large metropolitan areas are available as well. Lowest geographic area: Varies depending on dataset but possibly at neighborhood (city) level.

National Center on Health Statistics  
Large inventory tracking various health statistics such as disease, morbidity and mortality, birth, aging populations nationally and by state. In some instances, data for large metropolitan areas are available as well. Lowest geographic area: Varies depending on dataset but possibly at neighborhood (city) level.

Healthy States

Office of Statewide Health Planning and Development

Information on all licensed hospitals, clinics, nursing facilities, healthcare professionals, etc.  All data are free and downloadable from the website; they do take individual requests.  Online data only go back 5-7 years, older data is available by request.  Lowest geographic area: Zipcodes

California Department of Finance  
Website tracks economic (business and financial data) for the entire state. Includes employment, income, price index, trade, and some demographics. They take individual requests for data but may charge for it. Lowest geographic area: City level. Zipcodes are possible but may have to pay.

California Department of Health Care Services  
Provides data sources, reports and statistics for DHCS programs including Medi-Cal.

California Department of Public Health  
Vital Statistics Query System Provides an interface to obtain tabular summaries and statistical reports from California's birth and death vitial statistics database.

California Women's Health Survey  is an annually conducted survey about women's health and serves as a catalyst for innovative solutions that impact the health of California's women and girls. 

LA County Department of Public Health 
Health Data Resource Inventory Catalogs public health data reports available for Los Angeles County.  Data sources include the Department of Public Health, Los Angeles County Children's Planning Council and the United Way.
Public Health Reports A series of reports focusing on important health issues in Los Angeles County. 

Vital Statistics Data Resources Mortality in Los Angeles County by gender, race/ethnicity, age group, and SPA. If you are unable to find the specific vital statistics data that you need, you can submit a data request to the Data Collection and Analysis Unit.  Material costs, consulting time, and computer run will be charged.

 

Database searches

 

Search CINAHL and PubMed to gather information on your target population, on evidence-based practice, and community change theory.

Both the CINAHL and PubMed databases are organized (indexed) using agreed-upon subject terms, called MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).

Health Literacy is not a CINAHL (MeSH) subject heading, but Information literacy (which encompasses health literacy), is. Other helpful MeSH: Patient education, health knowledge and patient discharge education. Do a search combining information literacy with your population, for example: Ethnic Groups, Immigrants, HomelessnessSpecial populations. You can also combine a searching using a population with a health issue: Wound care and homelessness. Alternately, you can add terms like Communication; Communication Barriers; Culture to your search.

 

 

High impact journals

Search these high impact journals for community and public health case studies:

American Journal of Public Health
American Journal of Health Promotion
Health Affairs
Journal of Community Health
Community Mental Health Journal
Community Practice
Journal of Epidemiology and Community Health
American Journal of Community Psychology
Family & Community Health: The Journal of Health Promotion and Maintenance
Public Health Reports 

Use our Interlibrary loan service for journals not subscribed to by the Library.

 

Useful databases

MEDLINE (First Search interface)
Comprehensive database covering research literature in all areas of medicine from 1953-present. Published by the National
Library of Medicine; includes links to open access full text articles
MEDLINE (PubMed interface) Citations and abstracts for journal articles in all areas of medical practice and research

Cochrane Library
Systematic reviews of health studies

Alt Healthwatch
Full text articles and other documents and publications covering topics in complementary and alternative medicine

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
Citations on topics of public policy to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, web sites and government documents   

PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts for journals, books and dissertations in psychology and human behavior

Science.gov 

Sociological Abstracts
Citations to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences

Mental Measurements Yearbook
Information on commercially published tests and instruments; includes full text of research reviews of tests


Library Faculty

Profile Image
Deborah Schaeffer
Contact Info
Professor Emerita
Office: Library North Room 1025A
dschaef@calstatela.edu
(323) 343-3961
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip