Welcome to the Library. Today we will learn to:
- Create a research statement/question
- Select search terms
- Find books using the Library Catalog
- Find journal articles using a Library Database
- America: History & Life: A bibliographic database covering the world's scholarly literature in history. It includes article abstracts and bibliographical citations of the United States and Canada.
- Chicano Database: The most comprehensive bibliographic resource for information about Mexican-American topics and the only specialized database for Chicano reference.
- Academic Search Complete: Provides indexing and abstracting of the contents for nearly 3,800 scholarly journals and popular magazines.
- Ethnic NewsWatch: Ethnic NewsWatch is a full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic minority and native press.
- HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index: A bibliographic database to articles, documents, reviews, bibliographies and other items published throughout the world containing information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.
The multi-search allows you to search through the Cal State LA library catalog and most of our databases. It is a great place to begin searching.
Searching Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a subset of Google that focuses on the academic or "scholarly" piece of the internet. If you begin your search in Google Scholar through the Library's Homepage, it will give you links to those items that are available full-text at CSULA.