Skip to main content

Library Resources for DTLA Students: Finding Articles

Interdisciplinary Databases

Choosing Databases

Look at the databases by subject list to find databases on a broad subject related to your topic.

Subject Specific Databases for Finding Scholarly Journal Articles

Searching Multiple Ebsco Databases at Once

 

 Search multiple databases at once by clicking on choose databases within an Ebsco database:

 

  • Scroll over the bubble next to the database name to see a brief description of what types of resources are included:                                                                                                                      

 

  • Select as many databases as you like and click

 

Multi-Search

After Hours Research Help

Finding the Full Text of an Article from a Database Search

Library databases enable you to retrieve the full-text of an article, either by clicking the full-text link  or the button for the article you want.

 

Does the database you are searching in provide this article in PDF or HTML full-text?

If so, click on the full text link to save and/or print the full article and export the article citation to Refworks.    

 

If not, click on   to learn how to locate the article in full-text. This page will let you know if:

 

1. The article you are looking for is available in another database

 

2. If the article is not available in another database, you can submit a request to get the article using Interlibrary Loan (ILL).  ILL is a service where the library gets an electronic copy of the article for you for free and sends you a notification to your email.

 

3. If article is only available in our paper holdings- Periodicals – Level A of Library North-- use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) as well, since these materials are currently unavailable due to the library flooding of Level A.

 

Databases for Finding Newspaper Articles

Finding Resources From a Citation

Finding a Resource from a Citation

Books

Citations for books will generally list the place of publication and publisher distinguishing them from other types of resources.    

To find a book, try a title search in WorldCat or a basic search in Multisearch.

EXAMPLE:               

Mendheim, B. (1987). Ritchie Valens: The first Latino rocker. Tempe, Arizona: Bilingual Press.

Articles

Citations for articles will generally list the year, volume, issue, and page numbers.

To find the full text of an article, start at the library homepage and look up the title of the periodical using the journals tab or try a keyword search in Google Scholar using the author's last name and a couple of keywords from the title of the article.

EXAMPLE:

Wilkinson, S. (2007, July). The Day the Music Died. Aviation History, 17(6), 8-8.

 

John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300
323-343-3988