Cal State LA Special Collections & Archives supports the discovery, learning and engagement goals of
the University by identifying, acquiring, preserving, and providing access to primary research materials
of enduring value in support of the academic mission of the university,
the educational and research needs of the Cal State LA academic community,
scholars, and the research community at large.
Azalea Camacho, MLIS
Archivist and Special Collections Librarian
Azalea manages and oversees the Special Collections and Archives unit of the Cal State LA Library. She is involved with donor relations and collection development of manuscript collections, university archives, and rare book and unique collections. She provides Special Collections and Archives class sessions, research assistance, trains student assistants in processing collections, and curates/manages library exhibitions. Her research interests include social movements, LA history, community based collections, and building diversity and inclusion in the archival field/profession. She is into taxidermy, true crime and LA noir. Azalea holds a MLIS with a concentration in Archival Studies from San Jose State University and BS in Communications, Journalism from California Polytechnic University, Pomona.
Digitization Project Assistant
Amalia Castañeda, MA, MLIS
Reference and Public Services Coordinator
Amalia manages the reference desk and public services, where she maintains reference statistics, and develops reading room policies and procedures, and reference training manuals. She provides research assistance, trains student employees and volunteers, and assists with instruction sessions. She is interested in helping develop primary source information literacy sources for first-generation students and is passionate about connecting communities to Special Collections materials. She loves working at a multicultural campus like Cal State LA where she has the opportunity to create culturally relevant library programming and foster diversity in the profession by cultivating promising student assistants. She is passionate about LA and California history, enjoys reading presidential biographies and is an aspiring chocolate connoisseur. Amalia holds a bachelor’s degree (cum laude) and an MLIS from UCLA, and a History MA from Cal State LA.
Chinese American Oral History Project
Our collaboration with the Cal State LA Asian/Asian American studies program began in the Fall of 2016. When Dr.Juily Phun’s class began recording its oral histories, we worked in the background preparing to collect these stories and preserve them for future generations. As the project has grown, so too has our involvement in it; each class attends a workshop held by Special Collections staff to learn about the transcription and indexing process. By leveraging the power of students perspectives and commitment to the project, we are working together towards the goal of ensuring these stories are accessible to all.
Learn more about the Chinese American Oral History Project.
The Central American Memoria Histórica Archive (CAMHA)
The Central American Memoria Histórica Archive (CAMHA) at Cal State LA is a multi-year visual ethnic history research project to digitize and archive the visual and material culture of Central American activists, leaders, community groups, artists, and collectives in Los Angeles. The project supports the visual preservation of Central American community history and civic participation in Los Angeles and documents the transnational social, cultural and the political life of Central American communities from the 1950s to the present.