Skip to main content

Guide to Special Collections & Archives

Reading Room Hours and Availability

The Special Collections Reading Room is open to all students, faculty, and staff

Stop by for independent study or to view our collection galleries!

Special class sessions must be scheduled with staff. There are 6 large tables with 24 seats and soft seating available.See the For Faculty section for details about scheduling a class session. Note: The reading room is not open to group or business meetings. 

Hours: Monday-Friday, 9 am-4 pm. We are closed Saturdays and Sundays.

Note: Due to class sessions and special events, the reading room may be closed intermittently throughout the semester. Signage will be posted accordingly.

Reading Room Policies

The Department of Special Collections and Archives houses and preserves Cal State LA's history, including photographic collections, rare books, manuscripts and other Los Angeles based collections. We function as the university's museum and repository of historical materials!

In order to preserve and maintain the integrity of our collections, and provide an inviting and respectful study space for everyone, please comply with the following guidelines: 

  • Pencil only - no ink, pens or highlighters on or near tables and furniture
  • Independent study only
  • Quite study space
  • Food, water, or beverages are not permitted
  • Store personal bags, purses, laptop cases or backpacks in lockers
  • Sign in at the Welcome Desk
  • Do not leave belongings unattended
John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300
323-343-3988