Skip to main content

Guide to Special Collections & Archives

University Archives


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The University Archives collects and preserves official records, documents, publications, digital and electronic files, audio-visual media, and other materials in all formats documenting the history of Cal State LA.

Search University Archives

Cal State LA History

Cal State LA is located on the site of one of California's 36 original adobes, built in 1779 by Franciscan missionaries and destroyed by fire in 1908. These lands were once known as Rancho Rosa Castilla, given to Juan Batista Batz, a Basque rancher from Northern Spain who settled here in the 1850s (Batz Family pictured above, Pictures of Our Past Collection).

 

Los Angeles State College, founded by an Act of the California legislature, opened for classes on the campus of Los Angeles City College. In 1964 Los Angeles State College was officially renamed California State College at Los Angeles and became part of the California State College system. In 1972, the college received University status and was officially renamed California State University, Los Angeles (Cal State L.A.). In 1968, Cal State L.A. established the nation's first Chicano Studies program. In 1993, the CSU Chancellor and Trustees approved the development of Cal State L.A.'s Charter College of Education, creating the first such college of higher education in the nation. The original mascot of the school was the "Diablo". In 1980, new university President James Rosser adopted a new mascot, "Eddie," the golden eagle, designed to be more reflective of the campus' highly diverse community.

View Cal State LA Timeline

College/University Times Newspaper Collection

The University Times is the student-run newspaper of California State University, Los Angeles. In 1948 the first student newspaper was published and named the Los Angeles State College. In the October issue of 1948 the newspaper was officially named, College Times. In 1965 the College Times was named the best newspaper by California Intercollegiate Press. In 1972 the College Times changed its name to University Times, in accordance with the change in university status.

View College/University Times Collection

Night Times Collection

Armed with the GI bill, returning veterans from the Korean conflict flooded into Los Angeles State College. As is common today, many of these students attended classes in the evening while working a full-time job during the day. To introduce evening students to their classmates, activities and college life, L.A. State College began publishing an evening newspaper called Night Times.

View Night Times Collection

Yearbooks

The collection includes yearbooks from 1948 to present. The yearbook was not published between 1968-1975 as a result of anti-establishment philosophy held by many students.

Benita Francis Schwartz Papers (View Collection Guide)

Benita Francis Schwartz attended California State University, Los Angeles (then known as Los Angeles State College) and majored in Home Economics. She was awarded a number of honors including “LASC Outstanding Women, S’57.”

Cal State LA Chicano/a Poster Collection (View Collection Guide)

The materials in this collection were created from 1968-1978. The entire collection consists of posters. The posters announce events presented by the Chicano Studies Department at California State University, Los Angeles. The events include Feria De La Raza, United Mexican-American Students Present Community Day on Campus and a series of posters announcing the message, “Conoce Tu Herencia Cultural”.

Pictures of Our Past (View Collection Guide)

The collection includes over 30,000 photographic prints and over 20,500 negatives. The photograph collection is comprised of images originating from the Office of Public Affairs. Many of the photographs were used in University publications over the years and taken by staff photographers.

Marion Graff Photograph Collection

The collection consists of 146 photographic slides which depict campus views dating from the 1960s to the 1970s. These snapshots were taken by Marion Graff, a retired faculty member, and document the campus during those decades. Some of the slides have been identified, but a large number have not. As a result, they have been left in the “order” received. Professor Graff numbered most of the slides, so they remain in that order. Images include South Hall, New Science Building, Administration Building, Bungalows, Student Affairs, Fine Arts, and Neurological Center.

Yearbook Collection

Search the Pitchfork 

Search The Aerie 

Faculty Records

The archives houses the faculty files of past emeritus professors and faculty of Cal State LA. The faculty archives were originally maintained by the Dean's Office. These materials are a rich source for historical research and include materials such as biographical information, photographs, and articles.

Los Angeles County High School for the Arts Collection (View Collection Guide)

Los Angeles County High School of the Arts, also known as LACHSA is a Visual and Performing Arts high school established in 1985 by Caroline Leonetti Ahmanson. Ahmanson was an American fashion consultant, businesswoman and philanthropist. LACHSA is a model small learning community fully integrated within the campus of California State University, Los Angeles, offering direct connection to higher education. The school serves 600 culturally and socioeconomically diverse teens from more than 80 school districts in the county.

Loading ...

Rare and Unique Books

The Rare and Unique Books Collection includes examples of fine printing; works produced by outstanding presses; signed and/or limited editions; fine arts books or portfolios with plates; works published before 1800; works of historical value; works with unusual format, physical condition, or content; and rare, unique, fragile, or irreplaceable works.

With approximately 8,000 books (750 linear feet), some other notable items include: a copy of The Kelmscott Chaucer (1896); a collection of Upton Sinclair pamphlets, brochures and memorabilia, primarily concerning his unsuccessful bid for Governor of California in 1934; a 1783 edition of Reales ordenanzas para la direccion régimen y gobierno del importante Cuerpo de la Mineraría de Nueva-España; and a twelve volume set of Leonardo da Vinci's Codex Atlanticus. 

Search Rare Book Collections

Arthur M. Applebaum, an entertainment and corporate attorney, made five contributions of theater related books to the University, many of which were added to the regular circulating collection.The Arthur M. Applebaum Theater Arts Collection consists of approximately 150 linear feet of published (books) plays.

The Pollard Collection of Children's Books, donated in 1967 by biochemist John K. Pollard, is comprised of works by American and English authors of the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Notable authors include; Horatio Alger, Victor Appleton, William Baker, Gerald Breckenridge, Thorton Burgess, Edgar Rice Burroughs, Allen Chapman, Elmer Dawson, Fremont Deering, J. W. Duffield, Leo Edwards, Edward Ellis, Percy Fitzhugh, Howard Garis, Lillian Garis, Zane Grey, H. Irving Hancock, William Heyliger, Laura Lee Hope, Howard Payson and Harold Sherman. All are first or limited editions. The collection totals approximately 2,650 titles, or 91 linear feet.

The Mesoamerica and Colonial Mexico Rare Book Collection is comprised of three collections: Ruwet, Glass and Nicholson. The three collections amount for approximately 7,000 books and documents that include the papers and research works of three donors. The collection is divided into three large groups: The Mesoamerican, the Colonial, and the Independent periods that form the sequence of the history of Mexico from the 16th to 20th century. The collection includes facsimile editions of the Pre-Columbian Codices, such as the Borgia, Nuttall, Fejervary-Mayer, Vaticanus A and B, Selden, Borbonicus, Boturini, Mendoza, De la Cruz-Badiano, Florentine Codex. Some of the editions are accompanied by analysis and annotations by 19th and 20th century scholars such as Alfredo Chavero, Francisco del Paso Y Troncoso, Eduard Seler, Jose Fernando Ramirez, among others.

Pacific Standard Time: LA/LA Exhibition Catalog Collection

An exhibition catalog is a work published to document an exhibition, and includes a list of works exhibited. It may also contain illustrations, introductory essays, analyses of the works of art, biographical information on the artists, etc. 

Pacific Standard Time: LA/LA is a far-reaching and ambitious exploration of Latin American and Latino art in dialogue with Los Angeles. Led by the Getty, Pacific Standard Time: LA/LA is the latest collaborative effort from arts institutions across Southern California.

Use this link to view The Pacific Standard Time: LA/LA Exhibition Catalog Collection

Perry Robert Long was a printer with a distinguished national reputation. In 1959, the University Library at Cal State LA was selected by a committee to receive Mr. Long's collection of books on printing and graphic design consisting of approximately 3,000 titles, or 360 linear feet, of rare and beautiful books of, and about, fine printing. It is one of the largest collections of typographica on the West Coast. It includes works on the art and science of typography, paper making and color printing, graphic design, book binding, printer's manuals, and histories, as well as ephemera, keepsakes, announcements, broadsides, and other examples of fine printing. 

The collection also includes a rare Washington handpress.  It was manufactured in the United States between 1821 and 1910, by Paul Shniedewend. It was presented to the University in memory of Gordon J. Holmquist in 1966.

Loading ...

Manuscript Collections

The Manuscript Collections are comprised of local history materials, film and music collections, and a range of political materials including public official correspondence, pamphlets, and clippings. Manuscript literally means handwritten,

and 'manuscript collection' is often used to include collections of mixed media in which unpublished materials predominate. They may also include typescripts, photographs, diaries, scrapbooks, news clippings, and printed works as described by the Society of American Archivists.

Search Manuscript Collections

Central American Solidarity L.A. Network Collection (View Collection Guide)

The collection is comprised of publications and materials documenting Central American Solidarity Networks in Los Angeles from the late 1970s to the mid-1990s. The collection also contains publications and political posters relating to advocacy for militant revolutionary organizations in the country, liberation theology, human rights, U.S. intervention in Central America, and literacy projects in Nicaragua.

Salvadoran Refugees Audio Cassettes Collection, Escuchen Nuestras Voces (Hear our Voices)

The collection contains approximately ten hours of songs and poems by Salvadoran refugees, recorded in August 1983 in the UN refugee camp of Mesa Grande, Honduras. The audio recordings are accompanied by text files containing hand-written field notes for all of the tapes, loose sheets of song lyrics, the published book and an audio cassette of Escuchen Nuestras Voces/Her our Voices (Sabiá, 1984), among other miscellaneous related items.

 

 

Gloria Arellanes Papers (View Collection Guide)

Gloria Arellanes (1946- ) was born in East Los Angeles and raised in El Monte, California. She attended El Monte High School in the early 1960s, and in the mid 1960s she worked in the Neighborhood Adult Participation Project in South Los Angeles. In the late 1960s, she became Minister of Finance and Correspondence of the Chicano Brown Beret organization’s founding East Los Angeles Chapter. As Minister of Finance and Correspondence she wrote press releases, letters, and edited La Causa, the East Los Angeles based Brown Beret Newspaper. She also served as administrator of El Barrio Free Clinic and was a member of the National Chicano Moratorium Committee (1969-1970). She attended the Poor People’s Campaign in Washington, D.C. (1968), and the Denver Youth Conferences (1969 and 1970). After leaving the Brown Beret organization in early 1970, she organized the women’s group, Las Adelitas de Aztlan. She also coordinated la Clinica del Barrio and continued as a health care worker through the late 1970s. 

 

East Los Angeles Community Union (TELACU) (View Collection Guide)

Founded in 1968, The East Los Angeles Community Union (TELACU) is a non-profit community development corporation with a mission to create greater opportunities, services, and affordable housing in underserved communities. TELACU also provides scholarships for Latino students through the Latino Education Foundation.

 

Jose R. Figueroa Collection (View Collection Guide)

The materials in this collection were created from 1970-2010. The bulk of the collection includes posters and publications. The posters pertain to Chicano Theatre and rallies through the 70s and 80s. The theater productions were produced by El Teatro Campesino, Teatro de la Gente, and Teatro Urbano. The collection also contains publications of theatre programs, magazines and newspapers. Some of the magazines and newspapers include El Foro del Pueblo, Huelga, and La Raza. In addition, the collection contains photographs of the guerrilla military and political organization in El Salvador, Fuerzas Populares de Liberacion (FPL). The collection contains information and history of Chicano/Latino struggles and activism during the Chicano movement in Los Angeles.

 

InnerCity Struggle Collection (View Collection Guide)

InnerCity Struggle (ICS) works with youth and community residents to promote safe, healthy and non-violent communities in the Eastside of Los Angeles. ICS began as a project of Proyecto Pastoral at Dolores Mission and launched as its own independent community organization in 1994. The founding Executive Director Maria Teixeira, led the organization forward based on a vision of building and promoting a safe, healthy and non-violent community in Boyle Heights by organizing and mobilizing community members to achieve that mission. As co-founder of InnerCity Struggle, Luis Sánchez launched the youth organizing component United Students and the parent organizing component Familias Unidas. 

The collection contains a wide variety of InnerCity Struggle (ICS) publications, youth program materials, student writings and photographs, newspaper clippings and graduation sashes. The collection also includes ephemera related to its youth activist component with items such as posters, buttons, t-shirt and a commemorative ICS anniversary pocket watch.

 

Mexican-American Baseball in Los Angeles Exhibit Collection (View Collection Guide)

Mexican-American Baseball in Los Angeles: From the Barrios to the Big Leagues was a collaborative event developed by the Baseball Reliquary, a Pasadena-based nonprofit organization, and the John F. Kennedy Memorial Library. The project focused on the historic role that baseball played within the Mexican-American communities of Los Angeles County and the greater Los Angeles metropolitan area. In addition to the exhibition (March 26-June 9, 2006), the CSULA University Library hosted a reception on April 9, 2005.The exhibition and the project moved to CSU, San Bernardino in 2008 and was renamed, The Latino Baseball History Project: The Southern California Experience.

 

Carlos Montes Papers (View Collection Guide)

Carlos Montes (1947- ) is a nationally respected leader in the Chicano, immigrant rights, and anti-war movements. Montes was born December 28, 1947 in El Paso, Texas while his family lived in Juarez, Chihuahua, Mexico. As a leader in the Brown Berets, he organized the first protest at the East L.A. Sheriff’s station against police brutality in the winter of 1967. He helped to lead the Brown Berets into a national organization with chapters in the Southwest. Additionally, he was a leader and organizer in the historic East L.A. Walkouts in March of 1968, which led to major reforms and changes in the Los Angeles Unified School District. He was indicted by a secret L.A. County Grand Jury and arrested for conspiracy to disrupt the school system with many other charges in what became known as the East L.A. 13 case; charges later dropped. 

 

David Sandoval Papers (View Collection Guide)

David Sandoval is the former Director of the Cal State L.A. Educational Opportunity Program (EOP) from 1981-2008. An EOP graduate, Sandoval entered the program in 1969 as a special admit student. During the 1960's, he was a student and community activist (UMAS, MECHA, Brown Berets). He combinined his media talents with his concern for the community by writing and producing short video and film documentaries.

Motion Picture and Television Script Collection (View Collection Guide)

The collection is comprised of over 300 motion picture and television scripts, totaling 12 linear feet. The bulk of the material was donated by the Theater Arts Department in the late 1970s. Titles include; "Ace Eli and Rodger of the Skies," a 1971 screenplay by Claudia Salter from an original screen story by Steven Spielberg, and "Terror town," an Alfred Hitchcock Hour teleplay.

 

Ivan N. Cury Collection (View Collection Guide)

 

Ivan N. Cury (1937-    ) was born and raised in New York City.  At the age of ten he became involved with professional radio, appearing on hundreds of programs. He continued his radio career for another seven years until he decided to attend Carnegie Mellon University. He graduated from Carnegie Mellon in 1959 with a BFA in Theatre Arts and immediately continued his education at Boston University where he received his MFA in Theatre Arts. After graduation, Cury worked as a free-lance writer, producer and director in New York and Los Angeles. His credits include The Young and the Restless, The Dukes of Hazzard, All My Children, The Facts of Lifeand television special Nashville Remembers Elvis on His Birthday. Aside from free-lance, Cury also worked at multiple universities including Loyola-Marymount University, UCLA and Cal State LA. While at Cal State LA, he taught Introduction to Studio Production, Documentary Production, and Directing for Television. During his career, Ivan N. Cury published two books including Directing and Producing for Television: A Format Approach and TV Commercials: How to Make Them: Or How Big is the Boat?. Cury retired from teaching at Cal State LA, and as of 2010 became an Emeriti Faculty member.

 

Anthony Quinn Collection of Film Scripts (View Collection Guide)

Anthony Quinn (1916 - 2001) was born on April 21, 1916, in Chihuahua, Mexico. He moved with his family to Los Angeles when he was four. His father worked as a camera and property man at the Selig Studio. In 1936, Quinn appeared in Clean Beds, a play by Mae West. Quinn has made numerous film and Broadway appearances since 1936,when he first appeared in a film, Parole. He won two Oscars: for supporting role in Viva Zapata! (1952) and for the role of Paul Gauguin in Lust for Life (1956). The Anthony Quinn Collection consists of approximately 200 film scripts, or 20 linear feet. 

Boyle Heights Archive (View Collection Guide)

Boyle Heights is a historic Los Angeles neighborhood, diversely populated by Jewish, Latino, Russian, and Japanese Americans in the early to mid-twentieth century. Two decades prior to World War II, it developed as a working-class Jewish community and was at one point home to the largest Jewish community in the Western United States. In the postwar period, the Jewish population gradually began to move out of Boyle Heights into expanding middle-class and suburban neighborhoods.

The Breed Street Shul was built as a place of worship in 1922. Out of nearly thirty synagogues during the peak of Jewish and Jewish American life in Boyle Heights, the Breed Street Shul was the last synagogue in what was by the 1950's becoming a predominantly Mexican and Mexican American neighborhood. In the 1980s, the Shul was essentially abandoned and damaged by vandalism, earthquakes, and neglect. In 2000, Jewish and Latino groups sought funds for renovations and in 2011, a small portion of the building opened to the public. Today, the mission of the rehabilitated Breed Street Shul project is to bring together the Jewish, Latino and other communities of Los Angeles by transforming the campus into a center of arts, culture, education and service for its current neighbors.

This collection represents the initial accession of the Boyle Heights Archive in 2005. This archive was initiated to serve as a setting for studies that explore the ongoing history of Latino/Chicano/Jewish community relations of Boyle Heights.               

Compton Communicative Arts Academy (View Collection Guide)

The Compton Communicative Arts Academy (CCAA) Archive is comprised of a collection of images from photographer, Willie Ford that document African American art and culture, community-based art making, and art-based community making in Los Angeles during the early 1970s. Ford was CCAA's photographer from 1970-1976. The 200 items in this digital collection were selected from a collection of over 4,100 photographs, negatives, slides and ephemera by faculty members from the Library and the Liberal Studies Department. The criteria for selection were images that illustrate buildings and places, the Academy's programming, artwork and performances, artists and notable people and events. This phase of the project was part of the California Local History Digital Resources Project supported by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act, administered in California by the State Librarian.

Extent: 200 images 194 online items View CCAA Collection

 

Fedco Superstores, Inc. Collection (View Collection Guide)

The Federal Employee's Distribution Company (FEDCO) was founded in 1949 by 600 Los Angeles area postal workers. In 1955, FEDCO had one store in Los Angeles and two others in San Bernardino and Bellflower. By 1984, FEDCO had nine stores with membership growing to over 3 million. Over time, deep discount merchandisers such as Wal-Mart and Costco, took away large segments of FEDCO's business. In July of 1999, FEDCO filed Chapter 11 bankruptcy. The real estate holdings were purchased by Dayton Hudson Corporation which owns Target Department Stores, and merchandise was sold at a going-out-of-business sale.

Roy and Johana Harris Collection of Musical Scores & Personal Papers

Leroy Ellsworth Harris (1898 - 1979), American composer, was born in Oklahoma, but moved at an early age to the San Gabriel Valley. He became world renowned as a composer of American music. In 1973, while Harris was a member of the Cal State LA Music Department faculty he donated his papers to the University, and the Library became the repository for his musical works and personal papers. These papers consist of approximately 3,000 leaves of original manuscripts and sketches, copies of published and unpublished works, 15,000 letters and other memorabilia, commercial and noncommercial recordings of the major portions of Roy Harris' works, and the complete holdings on microfilm of Harris papers owned by the Library of Congress. 

In 1987, Mrs. Johana Harris added approximately 70 linear feet of documents bringing the total to approximately 180 linear feet. 

 

 

 

 

 

Stan Kenton Collection of Musical Recordings & Personal Papers

Stanley Newcomb Kenton was born in Wichita, Kansas, December 15, 1911. He moved to Los Angeles at an early age. He was a renowned bandleader, pianist, arranger, and composer of modern jazz. He made worldwide concert appearances, billed as "artistry in rhythm," progressive jazz, and innovations in modern music. Kenton died in Los Angeles, August 25, 1979.

In 1980, the University received the Stan Kenton Collection from his wife Audree Coke, Director of Kentonia, Inc. This collection includes taped radio concerts, interviews, and commercial recordings; honors and awards; scrapbooks; posters; newspaper clippings; programs; and photographs of Kenton and his band dating from the early 1940's, with the bulk of photographs dating to the 1960's and 1970's. There are approximately 40 linear feet in the Stan Kenton Collection.

 

California Arts Commission Collection of Orchestral Scores and Parts

The California Arts Commission Collection, consisting of 170 orchestral scores and parts (30 linear feet), was received the by the University Library in 1979 from the California State Library. This collection originally belonged to the California Arts Commission, but was transferred to the State library when the Commission phased out a planned program of orchestral performances

The collection includes works by a number of composers: Bach, Beethoven, Berlioz, Borodin, Brahms, Debussy, Dvorák, Elgar, Franck, Haydn, Mahler, Mendelssohn, Mozart, Musorgsky, Prokofiev, Rachmaninoff, Rinskii-Korsakov, Rossini, Saint-Ssaëns, Schubert, Schumann, Shostakovich, Sibelius, Stravinsky, Tchaikovsky,Wagner, and Weber. Each work includes a conductor's score and a complete set of orchestral parts. These scores and parts may be borrowed by California orchestras for a period of one quarter.

 

Jeffrey Jones Collection of Sheet Music & Music Anthologies

Jeffrey Jones, grandson of composer Harry Warren, died at the age of nineteen. Jeffrey's mother, Cookie Jones, gave his collection of sheet music and music anthologies to the Library in 1989. Included are over 10,000 popular music scores, or approximately eighteen linear feet, dating from the middle of the late twentieth century.

Harry Warren, considered to be the most successful composer of song for American films, was born in Brooklyn in 1893 and, by way of Broadway, came to Hollywood where he composed for over seventy-five films. In 1933, he wrote the music for Forty-Second Street and Gold Diggers. He composed We're in the Money and Shadow Waltz. Three of his songs received Academy awards: Lullaby of Broadway (1935), You'll Never Know (1943), and On The Atchison, Topeka and the Santa Fe (1946). From among his approximately 250 songs, he is especially known for favorites like I Only Have Eyes for You (1934), Jeepers Creepers (1938), You Must Have Been A Beautiful Baby (1938), Springtime in the Rockies (1942), and That's Amore (1953).

 

Glenn Jordan Collection of Light Opera Scripts & Scores (View Collection Guide)

Glenn Jordan was associated with light opera musical companies throughout the United States and was director of the Los Angeles Civic Light Opera from 1971 until his death in 1976. In 1986, Mrs. Glenn (Lucy) Jordan presented to the University Mr. Jordan's collection of nineteen light opera musical scores, eight-nine musical scripts and seventy-four individual files with photographs and other related documents. The Collection totals 21 linear feet.

 

Otto Klemperer Collection of Musical Scores (View Collection Guide)

Otto Klemperer, German conductor and composer, was born in Breslau, Germany, May 14, 1885. After studying in Frankfurt and Berlin, he became, after 1918, one of the leading German conductors of his generation. From 1933-1939, he was conductor of the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra. The Klemperer Collection was presented to the University in the mid-1970's. 

It is comprised of 215 orchestral scores,or approximately 12 linear feet, including works by Bach, Bartok, Beethoven, Bloch, Brahms, Britten, Bruckner, Busoni, Kelius, Gluck, Grieg, Handel, Hindemith, Krenek, Liszt, Mahler, Malipiero, Mendelssohn, Milhaud, Mozart, Musorgsky, Pfitzner, Prokofiev, Respighi, Schönberg, Schubert, Richard Strauss, Stranvinsky, Tchaikovsky, and Wagner. Many include Klemperer's conducting notations.

 

 

 

 

Jimmy McHugh Collection of Sheet Music (View Collection Guide)

Jimmy McHugh, born in Boston, has been hailed as the most successful Irish-American writer of popular songs since Victor Herbert. He wrote such tuneful melodies as I Can't Give You Anything But Love, Baby, I'm In The Mood For Love, Don't Blame Me, On The Sunny Side Of The Street, It's A Most Unusual Day, You're A Sweetheart, and Comin' In On A Wing And A Prayer

The McHugh Collection, approximately 4 linear feet, consists of over 550 songs from the late nineteenth Century to the early 1970's.

The collection of Public Officials' Papers had its beginnings in October 1966 when University Librarian, Morris Polan established a repository for the papers of distinguished California public officials.

Richard Alatorre

Richard Alatorre was born in Los Angeles on May 15, 1943. He earned his B.A. from California State University, Los Angeles (1965) and his M.P.A from USC (1970). Alatorre served as a California State Assemblyman from 1973-1983 and as Los Angeles City Councilman from 1985 -1999. The Library has 38 linear feet of his State Assemblyman (55th District) papers.

 

Ernest E. Debs

Ernest E. Debs (1904-2002) was born in Ohio in 1904, and moved to Los Angeles while in his teens. He represented the 56th District as State Assemblyman(1942-1947), the 13th District as City Councilman (1947-1958), and the 3rd District on the County Board of Supervisors (1958-1974). While in the State Assembly, he authored the bill establishing California State University, Los Angeles. As County Supervisor, he chaired thirteen major departments, and served on numerous other committees. The Libraryhas 182 linear feet of his County Supervisor papers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Julian C. Dixon

Julian C. Dixon (1934-2000) served as a California State Assembly Member, 49th Assembly District, U.S. House of Representatives 28th Congressional District and 32nd Congressional District. Dixon graduated from California State University, Los Angeles in 1962. The materials in the collection include California Assembly files, press clippings, general office files, press releases, speeches, and photographs.

 

Mervyn M. Dymally

Mervyn Dymally (1926-2012) served as California State Assemblyman for the 52nd and 53rd District, and as State Senator for the 29th District. He served as Lieutenant Governor under Jerry Brown and was elected to the 97th United States Congress representing the 31st District. Dymally completed a Bachelor of Arts in education at California State University, Los Angeles in 1954. In 1969, while serving in the California State Legislature, he earned a master’s degree in government from California State University, Sacramento. In addition, Dymally earned his doctorate in human behavior from Alliant International University in San Diego. Dymally is known for breaking barriers as a black lawmaker in California and in Congress after moving to the United States from his native Trinidad at age 19.

 

 

 

John C. Holland

Holland was one of the longest serving Los Angeles City Council members from 1943-1967. Born in Bartlett, Texas he attended Stanford University where he studied prelaw and relocated to Los Angeles after a period of military service. In 1919, Holland established an electric appliance business in Highland Park which he operated until December 1951. In the primary election of April 1943, he was elected to the Los Angeles City Council, representing the 14th District. He was reelected between 1945-1955, and in 1959 and 1963. One of few who opposed the proposal, Holland was City Councilman during the contentious decision to abandon public housing plans in Chavez Ravine and instead move forward with the construction of Dodger Stadium. The collection contains one of the very few remaining original eviction notices mailed out by the City of Los Angeles Housing Authority to residents of Chavez Ravine.

 

Julian Nava

Julian C. Nava (born in 1927) served on the Los Angeles City Board of Education and was a United States Ambassador to Mexico. Nava grew up in East Los Angeles and studied at East Los Angeles Community College before transferring to Pomona College. In 1955, Nava received his Doctorate in Latin American History from Harvard University. Nava is currently retired and holds the title of emeritus professor at CSU Northridge.

Loading ...
John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300
323-343-3988