Skip to main content
CSU Los Angeles
Reference Sources Online
Search this Guide
Reference Sources Online: Literature
Careers & Occupations
Countries & States
Dictionaries & Thesauri
Grants & Scholarships
Maps & Atlases
Subject Specific Reference Sources
Health & Medicine
Politics & Government
Time - Calendars - Weather
Contemporary Authors [requires login]
Provides biographical information on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors.
Dictionary of Literary Biography [requires login]
Provides nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Middle English Dictionary
Its 15,000 pages offer a comprehensive analysis of lexicon and usage for the period 1100-1500.
The Online Slang Dictionary
Literary resources providing contemporary and classic references on verse, fiction and non-fiction.
Dedicated to Cervantes, this site includes publications, texts, and bibliographies and may be viewed in either English or Spanish.
Contemporary Literary Criticism [requires login]
Contains more than 35,000 critical essays on contemporary authors, with biographical, critical, principal works, and further study information.
Perseus Digital Library
Under development since 1987, covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online [requires login]
A searchable electronic database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1960 and 2010.
MLA International Bibliography [requires login]
Literature, language, folklore, and linguistics - over 4,000 U.S. and international journals
English Literature Links
Directory of Internet Resources on Literature
Contains summaries of plot/content, character analyses, commentaries, author background data, and so forth.
Contains over 650,000 citations to poems which may be searched by any word in a title, first line, author, subject and some key words.
Includes full text of Bartlett's Familiar Quotations, King James Bible, Oxford Shakespeare, Gray's Anatomy, Strunk's Elements of Style, and more.
Health & Medicine
Sep 10, 2018 3:47 PM
Login to LibApps
John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300