Skip to main content
university logo

University Library

History

Find Books and eBooks

Search for all different types of materials including books & eBooks, articles, streaming videos, theses, and more all one one place! Search Now

Expand your search to materials beyond CSULA and borrow books from other Cal States with CSU+, or libraries accros the country with InterLibrary Loan.

How to Find a Print Book

Books in the library are organized according to the Library of Congress classification system. Each book has a unique call number. They are organized so that similar subjects are next to each other on the shelf. When you find a book that you want in the library's catalog, write down the call number and location.

Floor Library North Library South (Palmer Wing)
1st Check out and Research Help ITS Help Desk, Advisement, and Tutoring Center
2nd A-H Books Special Collections
3rd J-QE Books QH-TX Books
4th   U-Z and Children's Books

Example: Find  RC280 .B8 L58 1980b at the Chalon Library

  •     According to the chart above, R books are located on the 3rd Floor South.
  •     Go to the 3rd Floor South and look for "RC" (between RB and RD).
  •     Follow the numbers after the RC’s until you get to 280 (two hundred and eighty, not 2-8-0).
  •     Look for all the RC280s with letters following them, and find the letter B.
  •     Go to B8.
  •     Look for all the RC280.B8’s, and find the letter L.
  •     Go to L58 (fifty eight, not 5-8).
  •     Look for the year 1980 at the end of the call number.
  •     There is your book!

Request Books From Other Libraries (ILL & CSU+)

Easy borrowing from other Cal State schools with CSU+

  • Expand your results or search all CSUs

 

  • Make sure that you are logged into your Cal State LA Library Account

  • In the Find it Section click to request the book from another library. 

  • You can also see what other CSU's own the item with the "show libraries" button. The closer the campus the quicker you can expect arrival.

 

 

CSULA Library ILLiad Interlibrary Loan Service

While CSU+ is the fastest and most convenient way to get books and DVDs we don't own at CSULA, the library also offers traditional Interlibrary loan to access books and electronic artciles from institutions all over the country.

  • If no other CSUs own the book or DVD you need, you may be automatically prompted to request through ILLiad Interlibrary Loan.
  • Click the yellow "Find It" button in any Article Database to search across all Cal State LA collections, if no match is found you will automatically be directed to ILLiad Interlibrary Loan. 
  • First time users will need to create an account. Use your standard Cal State LA log in info, and fill out the contact form.
  • Users may request physical books, and digital copies of articles.
  • Allow up to 10 business days for processing.

Finding Theses and Dissertations

The library keeps a copy of all the masters theses that have been written by CSULA students. Print copies prior to 2012 are available in Archives and Special Collections, and digital theses beginning Fall Quarter 2011 are available in the CSULA Digital Repository.

Search for theses and dissertations from CSULA and other universities using OneSearch

  • Type search criteria like the subject, and hit 'Search' (ex. education).
  • Narrow the resource type to Theses & Dissertations
  • Select available in the library for print copies here at CSULA using the filters on the left hand side

In addition, check out these databases of digital theses and dissertations:

Textbooks on Reserve

Some textbooks are available for you to use in the library or online through Reserves.  To see if your textbook is one of them, search OneSearch and change the drop down to course reserves.  You can sort the list by clicking on the instructor or course.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Reference

Google Books

Searching Google Books to Find Whether a Book Is Full-Text Online

  • Enter a book title or keywords, e.g.

    The Beaver Men: Spearheads of Empire

    At the search result page, click the book title to see whether the book is full-text online.

    Click "Find in a Library" link to see if the book is available in our library or a local library.

Searching WorldCat to Find Books in Other Libraries

WorldCat is a  global catalog of library collections. Open WorldCat--Let you find books near you by zip code. WorldCat--let you find books by library and request them via Interlibrary Loan.  

Open WorldCat
Access from
http://www.worldcat.org, or from the library web homepage, click on Search Other Libraries.

  • Enter a book title or keywords
  • At the results display page, enter your zip code , and you will get a list of libraries near you that own this book
  • Click on the book link by the library name where you plan to go and find out the book status (whether it is in the library)WorldCat

WorldCat
Access from Library Database A-Z list, or from the library web homepage, click on Search Other Libraries.
 

  • Enter a book title or keywords
  • At teh record display page, click on the link "Libraries worldwide that own item" to see if CSULA Library owns the book. If the Library does not own the book, you should click on the Findit Button button to get the book via Interlibrary Loan.

 

Find Book Reviews

Book reviews can be helpful in evaluating books or understanding how a book was received during its time.  In this sense reviews of current and modern books can help you gain some understanding of interpretations of the book, the validity of the research, and how it fits in with the scholarship in the topic area it covers.  Current reviews can easily be found using OneSearch and subject specific databases. Search for a title or author, or using your topic and narrowing to 'reviews'.

Reviews on books published in other time periods can help you understand how to book was received at the time and the views of the society that it belonged to. Reviewed published before the 1980's may require using an index either in print or online to discover.

John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300
323-343-3988