This is the "Getting Started with Business Research" page of the "BUS 5000 Foundations of Business Administration" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

BUS 5000 Foundations of Business Administration  

Last Updated: Feb 13, 2017 URL: http://calstatela.libguides.com/bus5000 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started with Business Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

BUS 500 Research

Business Research @ CSULA

As a student, business research involves three broad tasks:

  1. Researching the business literature
  2. Research companies
  3. Researching industries

When researching the literature for management you are typically looking for peer reviewed or scholarly articles about processes, trends, or theories and their relation to the way companies are lead, organized, and managed as well as the business practices they employ in order to be successful. There are several databases for this type of research. Studies can be quantitative research or ones that involved data gathering and interpretation or they can be purely theoretical expositions on ideas or concepts related to management of an enterprise. These same databases also include popular articles (magazines and newspapers) as well as industry press like newsletters that explore business problems in a more practical way and can be useful for understanding a specific company or its industry. The best databases for searching the scholarly and popular literature of business are ABI Inform Global and Business Source Premier.


Researching industries and companies requires the use of many specialized databases. There are several of these including Mergent, Factiva, IBIS World, Standard & Poors, and ValueLine. They are listed on this page as well as under the specific tabs that can guide you in these two tasks.

Not sure about something?

As a student it's not unusual to come across terms, concepts or ideas that are either vague or alltogether unknown to you. One of the best sources of general business information, especially definitions of concepts is Investopedia.com. Next time you come across a ratio or finance formula or marketing terms that's unknown to you, try it out.

Business Literature Databases

 

  • ABI/Inform Global
    Great source of peer reviewed/scholarly articles related to business and academic business topics. Also includes magazines and trade press as well dissertations and reports.
  • Business Source Premier
    Like ABI/Inform, a core business database for literature reviews and finding scholarly articles. Includes popular and trade press as well.
  • Gale Virtual Encylcopedias
    Use this database to get background information and overviews of topics. Like Wikipedia but authoritative, credible and can be cited.
  • RefWorks
    Refworks can be a time and aggravation saver. Use it to create reference pages and in text citations. If you are ever asked for a group code it is rwcsulosangeles.

Company Research Databases

 

Faculty Profile

Profile Image
Michael Germano JD, MA, MS
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Office: LN 1018A
Office Hours Spring 2017:
Monday 2-4
Tuesday 3-6
Wednesday 3-4
Thursday 3-5
Friday 11-12
Text (769-287-1015) or email (mgerman@calstatela.edu) to schedule an appt.
Send Email

Portable MBA

Great E-book that can fill in the gaps or refresh your knowledge regarding most business concepts. Excellent chapter on business analysis and valuation of companies as well as good information regarding all functional areas (marketing, strategy, accounting, financce, cis etc.)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip