Easiest way to find scholarly articles is Google Scholar. The problem? Being asked to pay for content that you may have access to through the library. The solution? Use the link below. It will allow you to authenticate through your mycalstatela identity and automatically link to library content when it is available.
Search for other e-books. These are mostly business, technology, leadership, management and finance related. Can be useful starting points for understanding an issue or topic in a comprehensive way.
The links below are to the databases most useful for researching your paper for BUS 3050:
- Library MultiSearch
Easiest way to search most of the library's literature/articles holdings at once. Great for when you don't know your topic and want to get started on research and see what's out there.
- Business Source Premier
Like ABI/Inform, a core business database for literature reviews and finding scholarly articles.
- ABI/Inform Global
Great source of peer reviewed/scholarly articles related to business and academic business topics.
- Academic Search Premier
Multi-subject - over 4,250 journals and magazines, most full-text. Also contains images including photos, maps and flags.
- Gale Virtual Encylcopedias
Use this database to get background information and overviews of topics. Like Wikipedia but authoritative, credible and can be cited.
- LexisNexis Academic
Authoritative source for searching news, trends and facts. Also useful if your topic involves law or legal concepts since you can search law reviews (academic law articles). Good for company information too including financial results.
Similar to LexisNexis. Not a source of academic or scholarly articles but more authoritative than simply googling a topic to find news in order to verify a fact or trend.
Refworks can be a time and aggravation saver. Use it to create reference pages and in text citations. If you are ever asked for a group code it is rwcsulosangeles.
If your topic requires researching a company and the industry in which it operates use the following links:
- Industry Surveys
Industry survey includes section on "How to Analyze a Company..." that can be used as a template for a company report.
- Company Profiles
Click on the link; Enter your company's name and click BROWSE
- IBIS World Industry Reports
Click this link to get STRATEGIC industry surveys with information regarding how businesses within this industry operate and the challenges they face.
Enter your company name and click GO. Review company profiles, industry reports and news.
- IEEE Engineering/Electronic Library
Engineering database for studies on organizational behaviors related to communications technology as well as human factors and emerging technologies.
- Engineering Village
Additional database for searching technology related topics. Click the 'easy search' tab and enter your terms.
- Psych Info
Academic journals in psychology. Useful database for finding studies on the impact of communication styles, forms and technologies. Critical if you topic is related to occupational stress issues related to cognition.
- Communications and Mass Media Complete
Excellent source that covers communications studies as well as corporate behaviors related to advertising. Good source if you wish to explore how organizations communicate or create a culture or communicating.
Michael Germano JD, MA, MS
Office: LN 1018A
Office Hours Fall 2016:
Text (769-287-1015) or email (firstname.lastname@example.org) to schedule an appt.Send Email
Click the link below to access Refworks.
If asked for a group code it is: