Skip to main content

Library Research 101: Electronic Resources

Types of Electronic Resources

The Library electronic resources consist of a variety of types.

Resource Type

Brief Description

Example

Publisher Journal Package

Academic journal packages are generally published by university presses and well-known academic publishers, such as, Oxford University Press, Wiley.

  • Oxford University Press Journals Online
  • Wiley Online Library
  • Sage Premier Collection

Aggregator Databases

An aggregator database collates and indexes many resources including full-text journal articles, index/abstract journal articles, images,  magazine and newspaper articles, etc.

  • EBSCO Academic Search Complete
  • Proquest ABI/Inform

 

Non-article databases

These databases are not article-based.  There are a variety of non-article-based databases, such as, statistical databases, financial databases, investment databases, image/media databases, etc.  

  • IBISWorld
  • Value Line
  • SimplyAnalytics
  • ArtStor

Newspapers (single paper or aggregated)

Newspaper databases can be a single newspaper database or aggregated newspaper databases

  • New York Times
  • Los Angeles Times
  • Global Newsstream

Single Subject Databases

Some databases cover only a single subject area, and most of this type of databases are journal packages. 

  • APS (American Physical Society) Journals
  • AnthroSource

eBook Packages

Currently most ebook packages are subscription-based from the Chancellor’s Office.  Local library acquired ebooks are in the form of firm order purchases. 

  • GVRL
  • eBook Central (Proquest)

Individual Purchased eBooks

The Library also purchases ebooks individually in all subjects.  To find individual ebooks, use OneSearch

 

Open-Access Journals

Journal access made available by various open access sources

  • Directory of Open Access Journals

Media Databases

Similar to those non-article-based databases, media databases include image databases, music databases, video databases, etc.

  • AnatomyTV
  • Films on Demand
  • Music Online

 

 

Access Electronic Resources

To access library electronic resources, start from the Library Web Homepage library.calstatela.edu

 

Search Tool

What to Search

Brief Description 

OneSearch

OneSearch finds articles across many databases, books and other physical items at Cal State LA, other CSU libraries. It’s a great tool for interlibrary loan request via CSU+ for materials held in other CSUs.

OneSearch is a discovery service platform. 

Using the pull down menu, you will find the following search options:

OneSearch Limitations

OneSearch is not effective in finding articles held by EBSCO databases.  You have two options to find articles in EBSCO databases: 

1. Select Articles-->All Articles-->EBSCO Articles as shown in the screenshot

2. Go to the Database A-Z list, directly select EBSCO Databases

Google Scholar
 

Mostly articles

Google Scholar can be used as a discovery tool.   The Library has programmed the results of Google Scholar search to be connected to available library resources. Access to Google Scholar should use the link on the library web homepage.  If use Google Scholar directly, one needs to add our library in the GS Settings -->Library Links so the search results are connected to our resources.

Database A-Z and Subject Lists

Articles, company reports, images, films, music, etc.

To search individual databases, using the Databases link from homepage, go to either the database A-Z list or a subject list.

Journals

Journal and magazine articles

To find individual journals, use the journals link on the homepage.  

 

Electronic Resource Management

The Library Electronic Resources Coordinator and Electronic Resources Assistant are responsible for the lifecycle of electronic resources management using a variety of systems and tools.

 

When you encounter access issues, please use the Report a Database Problem online form. To access the form, click the Database link, select Report a Problem link on the upper right of the Database A-Z page.   

Report a Problem form is also available in OneSearch result page. Holly Yu and Frances Loera are responding to these troubleshooting requests in the electronic resources ticketing system. 

John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300
323-343-3988