This is the "Home" page of the "Guide to Special Collections & Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide to Special Collections & Archives  

Last Updated: Jun 30, 2015 URL: http://calstatela.libguides.com/SCA Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About Special Collections & Archives

Welcome to the John F. Kennedy Memorial Library Special Collections & Archives

Special Collections Contains & Archives:

 Rare and/or unique Library materials

 Select CSULA archives

 Distinctive, topical, collections that enhance educational resources

The mission of Special Collections & Archives, California State University, Los Angeles is to support the discovery, learning and engagement goals of the University by identifying, acquiring, perserving, and providing access to primary research materials of enduring value in support of the academic mission of the university, the educational and research needs of the CSULA academic community, scholars, and the research community at large.  

 

Core Mission

  • Appraise, collect, preserve, organize, describe and make available to researchers papers of historical, legal, fiscal, and administrative value.
  • Maintain facilities for the retention and preservation of these papers.
  • Provide information services that will assist in the operation of the University.
  • Serve scholarship by encouraging the use of the collections by members of the University and the research community at large.
  • Promote knowledge and understanding of the history, origins, aims, programs, and goals of the University and the history of the surrounding East Los Angeles Community.


The Staff of Special Collections & Archives appraises, arranges, and describes these materials for the purpose of preserving them and making them accessible to both the CSULA community and the research community at large.

The department maintains these research materials separately from the library's general stack collections due to their rare and/or unique qualities, physical condition, and format. Materials in Special Collections do not circulate outside the department.

 

Special Collections & Archives Staff Directory

Azalea Camacho          Head of Special Collections & Archives                       (323) 343-3977

                                   University Library Archivist                                          azalea.camacho@calstatela.edu

Vincent Barraza            Digitization Projects Assistant                                    (323) 343-3976

                                   Library Service Specialist III                                         vbarraz@calstatela.edu

Lorenzo Rams                Student Assistant

Amalia Castaneda          Student Assistant

Allina Nunley                   Student Assistant

M. Thomas Castor          Student Assistant

Saloni Chacha                Student Assistant

Anabel Garcia-Romo      Volunteer

 

Contact Us

Reception Desk Phone

(323) 343-3960

University Library Archivist Email

azalea.camacho@calstatela.edu

Address

Special Collections & Archivies

John F. Kennedy Memorial Library

5151 State University Drive

Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300

Hours & Location

Monday - Friday            

9:00 am  -  4:00 pm

Saturday - Sunday         

Closed 

Reading Room is located on the 2nd floor, Library Palmer wing, room 2079.

 

Exhibits

Exhibits are on display in the Special Collections Reading Room and on the 1st floor Library North throughout the year.

Please stop by to see our current exhibits:

Ties That Bind: A Transnational Family From China to the U.S.  - Library North 1st Floor

View Past Exhibits

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip