This is the "Getting Started with Business Research" page of the "MGMT 500 (MBA Management)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MGMT 500 (MBA Management)  

Research Guide for Management 500
Last Updated: Oct 9, 2011 URL: http://calstatela.libguides.com/MGMT500 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started with Business Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

MGMT 500 Research

Business Research @ CSULA

As a student, business research involves three broad tasks:

  1. Researching the business literature
  2. Research companies
  3. Researching industries

When researching the literature for management you are typically looking for peer reviewed or scholarly articles about processes, trends, or theories and their relation to the way companies are lead, organized, and managed as well as the business practices they employ in order to be successful. There are several databases for this type of research. Studies can be quantitative research or ones that involved data gathering and interpretation or they can be purely theoretical expositions on ideas or concepts related to management of an enterprise. These same databases also include popular articles (magazines and newspapers) as well as industry press like newsletters. The best databases for searching the scholarly and popular literature of business are ABI Inform Global, Business Source Premier and Business Full Text. Other useful databases for searching popular and trade literature are Factiva and LexisNexis.


Researching industries and companies requires the use of many specialized databases. There are many of these including Mergent, Factiva, LexisNexis, IBIS World, Standard & Poors, and ValueLine.

 

For help, contact library faculty member who is well-versed in business research. Contact information is on the right.

Not sure about something?

As a student it's not unusual to come across terms, concepts or ideas that are either vague or alltogether unknown to you. One of the best sources of general business information, especially definitions of concepts is Investopedia.com. Next time you come across a ratio or finance formula or marketing terms that's unknown to you, try it out.

Portable MBA

Great E-book that can fill in the gaps or refresh your knowledge regarding most business concepts. Excellent chapter on business analysis and valuation of companies as well as good information regarding all functional areas (marketing, strategy, accounting, financce, cis etc.)

Links to Business Literature Databases

The links are for business and management literature (scholarly, popular and practical):

  • ABI/Inform Global
    Great source of peer reviewed/scholarly articles related to business and academic business topics. Also includes magazines and trade press as well dissertations and reports.
  • Business Source Premier
    Like ABI/Inform, a core business database for literature reviews and finding scholarly articles. Includes popular and trade press as well.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Authoritative source for searching news, trends and facts.
  • Business Full Text
  • Factiva
    Similar to LexisNexis. Not a source of academic or scholarly articles but more authoritative than simply googling a topic to find news in order to verify a fact or trend.
  • RefWorks
    Refworks can be a time and aggravation saver. Use it to create reference pages and in text citations. If you are ever asked for a group code it is rwcsulosangeles.

Company Research Databases

Click the RESEARCHING Companies  tab for more detailed step by step instructions.

 

Databases for Company Research:

Industry Research Databases

Faculty Profile

Profile Image
Michael Germano JD, MA, MS
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Office: LN 1018A
Office Hours Fall 2017:
Monday 3-4:30
Tuesday 3-5:30
Wednesday 3-4:30
Thursday 3-5:30

Text (769-287-1015) or email (mgerman@calstatela.edu) to schedule an appt.
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip