Comparative Management Research @ CSULA
This guide will help you research countries and industries for MGMT 462 Comparative Management. The number of resources available for researching countries, global industries as well as the domestic industries of countries other than the United States can feel overwhelming. The resources listed here will help you get the information you need for assignments that require you to analyze industries, companies and managers working outside of the United States.
The links below are to the databases most useful for international business research with brief descriptions. for more detailed instructions on how to use each, click the tabs on global industry research and country research.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Great source for many aspects of your country research including entries on a country's economy, government, legal system, cuisine, religion, family, social conventions and customs.
Reports a variety of financial data (balance sheet and income statement mostly) for foreign companies. You can even use the build a report tool to create a composite report for an entire industry of similar companies in order to see average revenues and more. Also includes country reports that can help you understand a specific area of region of the world. Also includes excellent market assessment reports for a number of industries (Europe and Asia Pacific only).
- Business Source Premier
Excellent tool for international business research. The publications section has detailed country reports and profiles. Also, in the same area there are numerous industry reports by line of business and country.
Many useful applications including global industry reports and international economic statistics and data on particular global industries.
- IBIS World
Global industry reports.
- ABI Inform Trade & Industry
Tons of useful information here. Easiest way to access is view BROWSE tab. Click BUSINESS MONITOR INTERNATIONAL REPORTS for access to regional and country industry reports.
- EIU Viewswire
Offers in-depth coverage of 195 countries highlighting up to 250 important economic, political and market developments around the world and provides concise analytical briefings on their implications for business.
- ABI Inform Global
Use it for researching articles to get news articles about a country and an industry.
- LexisNexis Academic
Large international news database with industry and trade press for a variety of countries' industries.
Political, economic, risk and business information for about 200 countries.
- Market Share Reporter
Some international market share data.
- PAIS International
he PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) database from CSA covers publications from over 120 countries and contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, conference reports and gray literature, with a subject focus on public administration, including social conditions and public policy.
- Principal Global Indicators
The PGI dataset provides internationally comparable data for the Group of 20 economies (G-20) and the five members of the Financial Stability Board that are not part of the G-20 to facilitate the monitoring of economic and financial developments for these jurisdictions.
- The World Bank Global Economic Data
The World Bank web site offers a wide variety of economic, health and population statistics from around the globe. It covers international trade statistics, economic development data and country information. It provides access to a variety of analytical tools and software (ADePT, PovCalNet, PovMap and iSimulate) for interpreting and presenting data.
Michael Germano JD, MA, MS
Office: LN 1018A
Office Hours Spring 2017:
Text (769-287-1015) or email (firstname.lastname@example.org) to schedule an appt.Send Email