This is the "Home" page of the "Chinese" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chinese  

Databases Key Reference works Reference books in circulating stacks Academic links
Last Updated: Aug 24, 2011 URL: http://calstatela.libguides.com/Chinese Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Style Manuals & Guides

RefWorks

 

Databases:

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts   Language, linguistics, speech communications, hearing pathology - 2,600 periodicals. 1973-

JSTOR An archive of the full-text content of scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, business, and sciences.

Project MUSE A comprehensive full text selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals to support a core liberal arts curriculum.

Academic Search Premier Multi-subject - over 4,250 journals and magazines, most full-text. Also contains images including photos, maps and flags. 1984-

Contemporary Authors Complete biographical and bibliographical information on about 120,000 U.S. and international authors.

Contemporary Literary Criticism More than 35,000 critical essays on contemporary authors, with biographical, critical, principal works, and further study information.

Dictionary of Literary Biography More than 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of influential literary figures from all eras and genres. 

 

Key Reference Works & Language Dictionaries

 

Reference Books in circulating collection

  • The Cambridge companion to modern Chinese culture DS775.2 .C452424
  • Historical dictionary of United States-China relations E183.8.C5 S883
  • Historical dictionary of revolutionary China, 1839-1976 DS740.2 .H57
  • Historical dictionary of the Chinese Cultural Revolution DS778.7 .G86
  • Historical dictionary of the Chinese Civil War DS774.5 .L48 2002
  • Dictionary of contemporary Chinese military history  DS754.15 .W67
  • Dictionary of the political thought of the People's Republic of China JQ1501.A25 H4
  • Xian dai Han yu ci dian  PL1420 .X225 2002
  • Zhongguo wen xue da ci dian PL2257 .Z47 2007
  • Shanghai da ci dian  DS796.S257 S456 2007

Academic Web Links

  • China Today
    Comprehensive information base on today's China.
  • Chinese Classics (CND)
    full-text works of pre-Qin philosophers, poetry & prose, biography, commentary, novels and other classical literature.
  • Chinese Linguistics Page
    Full-text articles (in English and Chinese) on Chinese language and linguistics.
  • China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKI)
    The China Journal Net offers a fee-based full-text database covering more than 5,000 journals published in China, starting from 1994 to present.
  • Chinese Cultural Studies - Images
    Oicture files on the Brooklyn College Core Chinese Culture Web site.
  • Chinese Text Initiative
    Sponsored by the University of Virginia Library East Asian Section and the Electronic Text Center. Currently available are: 300 Tang Poems and Dream of the Red Chamber.

  • Internet Guide for China Studies
    News media, Politics, Business & economy, Society, Philosophy & religion, History, Literature, Culture, Language, Bibliographies, Academic institutions, Libraries, E-Journals, Booksellers & publishers, and other guides
  • Subject Guide to China (CEAL)
    Divides resources into 41 subject categories. Some have very useful information.

  • Zhongwen.com
    Contains the complete text of Chinese-English dictionary.

Ying Xu

Profile Image
Humanities Librarian
Contact Info
Office: Room LN 2020A
Phone: (323) 343-3959 (includes voice-mail)
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip